The church itself is an imposing building of Gothic design by Mr Edward Kay of Stockton on Tees with seating originally for four hundred and fifty persons and is today enhanced by being surrounded by the most beautiful and lovingly cared for garden, making the approach to the church most attractive whether in summer or winter.
In 1911 it must have been in a more peaceful situation without the constant flow and noise of traffic endured today. The amount of wood used around the sanctuary and throughout the rest of the church manages to give a warm impression regardless of the temperature at the time. The open hammer-beam ceiling with the huge crucifix suspended over the altar, and the octagonal stone columns are a joy to view, but the real glory of St. Patrick’s Church is the utterly beautiful enhancement given by the stained glass windows.
The light from the Holy Spirit shines down from the centre with pictures of St. Cuthbert and St. Aidan on either side. The windows round the sides of the church show scenes from the Life of Christ.
The crowning glory of all this stained glass are the beautiful windows at the back of the choir which are not normally observed from the body of the church. They are three tall oblong windows with St. Patrick depicted in the centre and scenes from his life in the windows at either side.Below these windows would be the main entrance to the church when it first opened. The windows are exquisite in their detail and colour.
The stained glass is a later addition and was not in the church when built, but was put in when Fr. McShane was parish priest.
From the founding of the parish to the building of the present church the parishioners showed by their actions how important their faith was in their lives, and the church now stands as an enduring monument to them, and to the priests who ministered to them.